Jamie Quinn Mystery Collection: Box Set Books 1-3

by Barbara Venkataraman
Published on: September 3, 2014

Jamie Quinn Mystery Collection is a set of 3 mystery novellas: Death by Didgeridoo, The Case of the Killer Divorce, and Peril in the Park.


Books 1-3 of the Jamie Quinn Mystery Series! Including:

“Death by Didgeridoo”-Winner of the Indie Book of the Day award. Reluctant lawyer, Jamie Quinn, still reeling from the death of her mother, is pulled into a game of deception, jealousy, and vengeance when her cousin, Adam, is wrongfully accused of murder. It’s up to Jamie to find the real murderer before it’s too late. It doesn’t help that the victim is a former rock star with more enemies than friends, or that Adam confessed to a murder he didn’t commit.

“The Case of the Killer Divorce”-Reluctant lawyer, Jamie Quinn, has returned to her family law practice after a hiatus due to the death of her mother. It’s business as usual until a bitter divorce case turns into a murder investigation, and Jamie’s client becomes the prime suspect. When she can’t untangle truth from lies, Jamie enlists the help of Duke Broussard, her favorite private investigator, to try to clear her client’s name. And she’s hoping that, in his spare time, he can help her find her long-lost father.

“Peril in the Park”-There’s big trouble in the park system. Someone is making life difficult for Jamie Quinn’s boyfriend, Kip Simons, the new director of Broward County parks. Was it the angry supervisor passed over for promotion? The disgruntled employee Kip recently fired? Or someone with a bigger ax to grind? If Jamie can’t figure it out soon, she may be looking for a new boyfriend because there’s a dead guy in the park and Kip has gone missing! With the help of her favorite P.I., Duke Broussard, Jamie must race the clock to find Kip before it’s too late.

A preview of the next Jamie Quinn Mystery, “Engaged in Danger,” can be found at the end of the book.


The Mystery Collection box set includes 3 cozy mystery novellas introducing us to Jamie Quinn. The stories are written in first-person, which is typically not my preferred voice for books – this is 100% personal preference and not related to any author or their writing style. I say this knowing that some types of stories are perfect for 1st person and would not be the same in 2nd or 3rd person. However, to me 1st person requires you to personalize – in a way – what you read since the sentences start with “I” and I can struggle with a main character when I disagree with a moral or ethical decision they make or when I am not a big fan of the character overall. Generally, when reading a 1st person book it takes me a few chapters to get comfortable with the style and story. So, when I started reading this series and noticed in the first paragraph that it was in 1st person I took a deep breath, but continued to read. What I found rather quickly though was that the main character, Jamie, had her own, unique voice that felt real and normal. It surprised me at how quickly when reading Jamie’s voice I could see as her own individual person – completely separate from my own. It goes to the author’s talent and ability how fully flesh-out Jamie’s character is. Jamie has a quirky sense of humor that resonates through-out the book and makes it a very pleasant read.

The story is set in Hollywood, Florida and you can tell the author is familiar with that part of the world – especially in the 2nd and 3rd books when Jamie goes to the different parks and experiences several different activities at these parks. In fact, after reading book 2 and 3, I’ve decided I’m a bit jealous of what Hollywood parks have to offer.

Although there are 3 stories in the box set, the stories move seamlessly from one story the next and the introduction or reintroduction of main characters was never overly cumbersome or weighed the story down. Brief synopsis of each story is:

Death by Didgeridoo – Jamie is introduced as a family court lawyer who is still grieving the death of her mother when her cousin, Adam, is accused of killing someone by didgeridoo.

The Case of the Killer Divorce – The husband of one of Jamie’s clients dies unexpectedly amidst a messy divorce. Jamie enlists the help of others to assist her client and find the real killer. At the same time, Jamie searches for information regarding her father.

Peril in the Park – Someone close to Jamie must deal with work-related issues that include vandalism, threats, and then murder. In her personal life, Jamie continues to learn more about her father.

Overall, I enjoyed the 3 mysteries and how memorable each of the series characters felt, but also how smoothly the story was able to transition within the story from mystery to personal life then back to mystery. I recommend to anyone looking for a new cozy mystery to snuggle up with or are looking for short mystery novellas to enjoy.

Rating: 4.5 stars

Thanks to the author for providing a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s